A visit to Luing

A fantastic day on Saturday to visit the small island of Luing (part of the Inner Hebrides)and walk every grid square. The views were unbelievable; as far as Malin Head in Ireland in one direction and Ben Nevis in the other. As I was rounding the southern end of the island I saw a RIB hurtling by under the lee of Scarba; that was Her Maj off to visit the Corryvreckan whirlpool on a weekend science course.
Luing is one of the Slate Islands and is now mainly agricultural, with cattle and sheep the major activities. There is some fishing and creeling. Much of the island is excellent pasture, but there are areas of bog in the central highlands (such as they are) which took some careful negotiation.
The sound of the island was dominated by birds – warblers and larks most obviously. On the west coast the flood tide was coming up the Sound of Luing and it provided a continuo of rushing, turbulent water.
A longish day’s walk, about six and a half hours to cover the whole island, but a fabulous day. Pity no pub …
(When I get a moment I will caption the toggies for you.)

















7 Responses to “A visit to Luing”

  1. Numptie Says:

    Hmm… yuo are making me homesick for the West Coast again! That looks one really beautiful island…

  2. Jude Says:

    Your photo strip of rural scenes reminded me of those old concertina type souvenir post-cards that used to be so popular.

    The sea is an amazing shade of blue. It’s interesting how different the colour of the ocean can be, depending on the particular coast it’s viewed from.

  3. Pat the Chooks Says:

    For the last twenty years I lived in Somerset and my experience of the colour of the sea was the brown murk of the Bristol Channel. Coming to the west coast of Scotland was a revelation; being able to see through the water was itself wonderful – the colours of the sea in the changing light and how it varies over the kelp beds and the sand fascinates me every time I see it. I now fully understand and see in nature the palette that Jolomo uses in his work

  4. Jude Says:

    Found the link to Jolomo most interesting. Thanks!

  5. Martyn Says:

    Stunning photos ! I’m getting twitchy for the West Coast of Scotland again now. A truly special place. It always amazes me just how ignorant of it many people in the UK are. If you get a warm sunny day on one of those West coast beaches it’s absolute heaven.

  6. Freda Says:

    Thanks for the photos. Gave me lovely memories of my time as minister there.
    Freda

  7. Pat the Chooks Says:

    Freda, I saw your name still on the board outside the church, so I thought of you as I walked past. I thoroughly enjoyed my few hours on Luing and I know I shall be back again.


Leave a Reply

