Political Compass

Political Compass
This is what happens when you’re stuck at home and bored. I came across this site courtesy of BondBloke, who is sadly not blogging at the moment, and thought I’d have a wee look. Pat the Chooks is not a political blog, but it has the occasional element of social and political (small P) commentary, so it’s probably useful to see where I am on the political compass. If you go to the Political Compass website (and you should, it’s fascinating), then you will find that their hypotheses is that the standard “left-right” dimension for categorising political and social thought is rather too restrictive. Me too; I’ve always felt that adherence to a single political party is not for me, although my voting history has been pretty consistent in one direction for a quarter of a century. Political Compass introduces an “authoritarian-libertarian” dimension as well and this enables them to create a plane surface on which individuals can be placed. It’s all classic forced-choice questionnaire stuff, but interesting nonetheless.
This is an example of the two dimensions that Political Compass uses:
The dimensions used by Political Compass
And this is where I came out, which doesn’t surprise me too much and probably won’t surprise anyone that knows me.
Personal Political Compass

4 Responses to “Political Compass”

  1. Numptie Says:

    Well done my friend pretty much in the same region as myself. Btw, the cat is out of the bag now, BondBloke is still blogging but under another name – I had hoped to remain incognito, but BondWoman exposed me…

  2. Pat the Chooks Says:

    Not that hard to find you – you left a link on BondBloke! Anyway, I like the art, and The Chookery is not so far from Lumga, which I understand is now rebuilt and funtioning again after their fire, although their website needs some serious updating.

  3. BondWoman Says:

    And “Bondbloke” the “group blog” is still going. All very confusing I know, but we are still doing interesting things, if not quite as bizarre as BB does as “Numptie”.

  4. Pat the Chooks Says:

    Lumga? I meant Lunga.


Leave a Reply

