People say the nicest things

Sometimes writing here seems a solitary pursuit. I know I get about five or six visitors a day, and some of those are regular visitors, so I must say a quick “hello” to Mrs Trellis of North Wales and hope that her recipe for prunes salad is a hit with the harlequin rabbit.
O dear, the mind has wandered again, must get back to the plot …
Ah yes, the SiteMeter that tracks visits to the site also lets me know which pages are referring visitors to me. Some time soon I must collate a list of the search terms that people are using, although I don’t think I’ll beat Speaking as a Parent’s spectacular success in coming 6th in the list of sites returned by MSN for the letter A!
Anyway, it turns out that a nice man called BondBloke was getting peed off with rude people writing nasty things in his blog and found at The Chookery a haven of niceness, or more properly, a place where nobody can be bothered to make controversial comments. To quote:
But the point is how quickly things turn nasty on blogs. This must be something to do with the absence of reasonable external controls imposed by the medium of blogging (especially the attraction of going anonymous in some cases), and the failure of some people to apply the necessary self-control to compensate. That doesn’t mean to say that personal blogs cannot work. They don’t all become too self-indulgent. Or bitchy. Or overdetailed. Sometimes they just work. Like, for example, another blog that I’ve been reading recently. Dear Readers, I give you Pat The Chooks. Go on, read it. You know you want to.
What a nice man!

4 Responses to “People say the nicest things”

  1. BondWoman Says:

    Actually it was BondWoman, not BondBloke! I found you by accident and loved the photos. Also the references to the Craignish Peninsula, because we spent a happy few days at Lunga in December and we are coming back soon.

  2. BondBloke Says:

    BondWoman is just a tart really – although I have to admit to liking your blog to the point that I am going to add you to the blogroll in an effort to drive yet more traffic to your haven of tranquility

  3. joared Says:

    You are, indeed, a nice person, taking the time to educate this Yank about your squarebagging hobby, sharing such beautiful photographs of Scotland. Now, I must add, I do hope to hear soon that your pussycat has reappeared.

  4. joared Says:

    You are, indeed, a nice person, taking the time to educate this Yank about your squarebagging hobby, sharing such beautiful photographs of Scotland. Now, I must add, I do hope to hear soon that your pussycat has reappeared.


Leave a Reply

