Cut off by the tide

Embarassingly I must report that I was cut off by the tide when I went to visit a small island accessible by welly at low tide. I’d mis-read the tide tables and arrived just as the tide had started to come in again. I thought I had enough time, but when I got back to walk back to the shore, the water was well over two feet deep. Wading across before it got any deeper was the only option, an experience made less pleasant by getting my trousers soaked in dilute septic tank effluent that was washing back up on the tide from the village’s somewhat limited sewagre treatment system. Fortunately, I was able to go home and shower and change before I got to my next job.
I must learn to read tide tables …

Leave a Reply

