Good News for the Queen of the Chooks

The Queen of the Chooks, my beloved wife, has heard from her job interview. She has been offered a permanent job teaching science at the local high school from Easter next year. Given that she has been back in teaching for over four years now and has only had temporary appointments up to now, this is wonderful news. It’s a little sooner than we had planned, but hey, I’m not complaining about being together permanently from Easter, three months earlier than we thought it might be.

Came back tonight to find the gate to the chooks closed and a load of potato peelings put out for the geese – the landlords had been around and marked their territory with the ritual skins of the solinaciae tubers.

Popped in to see my neighbour this evening and he’s agreed to keep an eye on the chooks when I go back down to Somerset for Christmas and New Year on Friday. I’m not sure if I’ll get to post tomorrow evening before I leave to head south, but if I don’t; apologies.

A very windy and blustery night tonight and I suspect even the hardier black chook who was up in the tree may have felt by now that she’s made her point and can retire inside the chook-coop with her dignity, if not her feathers, intact. One of the small white chooks was perched on the fence in the geese pen when I came home, so I hoiked her over the fence. I think she couldn’t get back in for the gate having been closed. There’s absolutely no point in trying to get the chooks back into their pen until they are good and ready. Chalky was, for those who follow his sleeping arrangements, back in the coop this evening.

No offerings of eggs today.

Leave a Reply

